Top phone2x 01271 861390 Top email2x Email us Basket Login Join

Club History

When Rear-Admiral Sir Edward Chichester, Bart., was appointed as the first Commodore of the Taw and Torridge Sailing Club in August 1905 the original Taw and Torridge One-Designs were built locally at a cost of £24 complete with sails. The club only became The North Devon Yacht Club after the Second World War. The club buildings used today were officially opened by Owen Aisher, President of the RYA, in April 1972. The full story of the Clubs history, up to 1986, can be found in the publication "Im On Starboard and a video tape has been produced, entitled North Devon Yacht Club Sailing in the thirties., 

Take a step back in time to the 1920s and click on the video link blow:

Instow Sailing in the 1920 - 6 min Video on the BFI

Last updated 9:05pm on 5 September 2022

© 2022 North Devon Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager